Jim Eyre OBE BA (Hons) AA Dip Arch RIBA

portrait of director Jim Eyre

Jim Eyre founded the practice with Chris Wilkinson and has led the design of many of the practice’s most celebrated cultural, commercial and infrastructure projects. It is the challenge of this diversity that drives him, running projects ranging from the Millennium Bridge at Gateshead, which won the RIBA Stirling Prize, to the RIBA Lubetkin Prize-winning cooled conservatories at Singapore's Gardens by the Bay and the redevelopment of the Grade II listed Weston Library. He has most recently overseen the regeneration of London’s iconic Battersea Power Station and the new Compton and Edrich stands at Lord’s Cricket Ground.

Running through all his work is Jim's belief that architecture should combine both analysis and inspiration when being pushed beyond the limits of modernist conventions. He has a particular interest in multi-disciplinary projects where architectural creativity and engineering principles can be combined. His approach continues to evolve with his interest in the spirit of the new, and the relationship of architectural design to both urban and historical contexts and the wider physical landscape.

Jim was awarded an OBE in the 2003 Honours list for services to architecture and was made Honorary Doctor of Laws at Liverpool University in 2009. He has taught at Harvard’s Graduate School of Design and the Illinois Institute of Technology. His publications include The Architecture of Bridge Design and the practice’s Exploring Boundaries and Works monographs. He has lectured at home and internationally, including at Yale, Berkeley, the Bauhaus, the Soane Museum, the RIBA and at the Sheldonian Theatre in Oxford.

Jim is currently a Commissioner to the Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851 and a Chair of the Architectural Association Foundation. In addition to his former role as President of the AA, he was previously an expert panellist on the Liveable Cities initiative and a Trustee of Design Council CABE. He is also one of few architects to be awarded the Royal Academy of Engineering President’s Medal.